Latest

How to become the person you want to be

James 1:13-14

 Let no one say when he is tempted, “I am tempted by God”; for God cannot be tempted by evil, nor does He Himself tempt anyone.  But each one is tempted when he is drawn away by his own desires and enticed.

Are you the kind of person who likes to do a good job? If so then you will know that consistent, above average performance in any area of life takes some tough decision making. If you don’t set standard for yourself, you won’t have the traction to leave “average” behind.

If you are waiting to see how you feel about the day before you determine how you will handle it, let me help you discover a better way to be excellent. Make some decisions ahead of time and walk them through: it’s not Ok for me to be sloppy at work. It’s not OK for me to neglect to tell my wife that I love her every day. It’s not OK for me to avoid apologizing when I know I am wrong, and try and skirt round the issue with some half-baked sentiment about, “If I offended you.’! You know you offended them, so just own it and clean it up!

You shouldn’t be deciding in the mall how much you are going to spend on this shopping trip when you are saving for your house! The dress can wait. Don’t see if it looks good before you decide!

Don’t wait to see how attractive he or she is before you decide whether or not to fornicate! Set a standard for yourself, “I am not that person.”

Temptation will come. They key to overcoming it is to rein in your desires by deciding who you want to be and recognizing that God has empowered you to become it. In fact, the temptations you fall into show you your area of vulnerability, where maybe you haven’t yet recognized your power to win, or indeed made a solid decision that you must and will overcome in that area. You find out that you have to work on that thing, so that the next time the devil comes around, trying to lure you into something that isn’t good for you, there will be nothing on the inside of you that he can hook you with. You have made a decision that this indulgence is not for you. You have set yourself a standard. You are becoming the person you want to be!

Pray

Heavenly Father, I acknowledge that you never tempt me or lead me into trouble, but my own weaknesses and desires will take me there. Thank you, that with your power, I am able to set a standard for myself and overcome!

I ask for your mercy and your grace to become excellent in those areas of weakness where I trip up most easily. I believe that I receive your strength in place of my weakness, and I resist temptation as I make a decision right now to act right and to become the person I want to be. Thank you, Lord!

3 Comments on How to become the person you want to be

  1. Good word

  2. Amen thank you Lord for your grace and mercy upon my life.

Your thoughts?

