Latest

God will never cut you off

John 15:1-2

“I am the true vine, and My Father is the vinedresser.  Every branch in Me that does not bear fruit He takes away”

If you are anything like I used to be, this verse strikes fear in your heart. Many people have taught that God is about to cut you off if you don’t get it right. I certainly thought that was what it was saying. But then I found out that this interpretation is a gross misrepresentation of the character and nature of God.

You see, you can have the Bible, but unless you are able to rightly divide it, you will still end up in error. The notion of God cutting you off is diametrically opposite to who God is.

Isaiah 42:1 tells us that “A bruised reed He will not break and a smoldering wick He will not snuff out.” If life has bruised you, God is not interested in finishing you off. When the fire has gone out of you because stuff has happened, Jesus is there to fan into flame everything that the devil was trying to extinguish in your life.

When we study this verse out, we find that an alternative translation in the footnote for “takes away” is “lifts up”. When a vinedresser tends his vines and he sees a branch trailing on the floor, he doesn’t trample it underfoot and cast it aside in disgust; He lifts it up and hooks it over a higher branch so that it can bear fruit. A branch on the floor will not grow fruit, but the higher branches are the most fruitful branches on the vine.

When life or people drop you, or when you are on the canvas because you made some mistakes and you are not where you are supposed to be, God is going to pick you up and hook you back up. When others have written you off, He will give you a second chance, because He intends for you to be fruitful.

Don’t run from God, today. Let Him fix you and fan your purpose back into flame.

Pray

Heavenly Father, I am so blessed to belong to you! Thank you that you will never discard me, but in every place that is broken or weak in me, you lift me up.

Satan, I come against the fear that you want me to entertain, that my God is impatient with me and that He is done with my mistakes. My God is lifting me up today! In Jesus’ name!

1 Comment on God will never cut you off

  1. Amen

Your thoughts?

