Latest

A simple way of building lasting confidence

1 john 5:14-15

Now this is the confidence that we have in Him, that if we ask anything according to His will, He hears us.  And if we know that He hears us, whatever we ask, we know that we have the petitions that we have asked of Him.

Do you realize how powerful you are when you pray according to the will of God? We can have total reassurance that the answers are on their way, because God has given us that confidence.

Meditate on this verse today! If you are full of worry and fear, your first need is not pills, you need to take this verse to heart and let it stir hope in you once again.

As Christians, we agree that addictions are wrong. Yet the greatest addiction of all is worry! Ephesians 2:12 unlocks it for us, “At that time you were without Christ, being aliens from the commonwealth of Israel and strangers from the covenants of promise, having no hope and without God in the world.”

It’s natural for someone without God to worry. What security have they? Yet Christians are living as unbelievers when they allow worry to rule their thinking.

“The just shall live by faith” This verse it to be found no fewer than five times in the scripture. Has worry become such a habit to you, that faith seems impossible?

There is no fountain of fear on the inside of a believer, but our emotions can be so used to taking that path, that it seems like the worry is automatic, maybe not in every area, but in some particular areas of our lives. We may be confident socially, but we may go to pieces over money. We may weather the storms in our place of work, but struggle to believe that our family will make it. Fear has torment. We live in a perpetual state of unease and dread.

Jesus came to set free all of us who have been subject to bondage through fear. He did it by conquering death, the biggest enemy of all, and the root of all other fears. Not only did He do it, but He did it when He was at His weakest: when He Himself was put to death!

Our Lord is our glorious Champion! Because He won, we win! Because He rose from the dead, there is resurrection for us in any place where death threatens to prevail.

Pray

Heavenly Father, thank you that your Word is a sure foundation for my life. Thank you that if I ask anything according to your will, you hear me, and because I know that you hear me, I also know that I have the petitions I asked of you.

Thank you for freedom from fear. I send fear packing right now. Fear, you are not welcome in my heart! I live by faith in the Son of God who loves me, and who gave Himself up for me. I focus my attention on Him  and all that He has done for me and I declare that I am FREE from fear and worry, in Jesus’ name!

Your thoughts?

