Latest

What to do when you feel overwhelmed

John 14:1

“Let not your heart be troubled; you believe in God, believe also in Me.”

Life will sometimes cause you to feel overwhelmed. Stuff comes up and you can’t shift it by yourself. It makes you lie awake at night and it makes you pray desperate prayers. Here is how to handle it: “When my heart is overwhelmed; Lead me to the rock that is higher than I.” (Psalm 61:2)

You and I are limited in what we can do, but there is One who is higher than us. When we pray we are not sending empty confessions into the air, He is listening to the voice of our supplications.

It may look like He is not answering, but He is. So get hold of yourself, tell your soul to be at rest and BELIEVE that you will have a good outcome.

Faith and fear are both believing what you don’t see.  Fear imagines future events that take you down, and plays with your sense of inadequacy. Faith believes God to bless and favor you in supernatural ways according to His Word, despite your worst mistakes.

Whenever you are troubled and full of dread, whether or not you realize it, you permitted it! Even in the midst of crazy circumstances, YOU get to decide whether or not to be troubled, or whether to believe. Sometimes, life can be so fierce that it is almost a moment by moment decision, but the more you make it, the stronger you become.

Look at life like this: you would never read a book in which the plot was smooth and uneventful; where the protagonist got what they wanted easily ALL the time! You would put that book down after only a few pages! It’s like that with you and me. The twists and turns of our lives are all part of the fascination of living. Fear will try and make you choose the safe option all the time, but if you sacrifice opportunity for security, you will end up with neither.

Life demands that we believe something! Who will you believe today?

 

Pray

Heavenly Father, I BELIEVE YOU today! I take hold of my emotions and command my soul to be at rest, because YOU will surely be good to me.

You haven’t brought me this far to leave me and you haven’t changed your mind concerning me, so Heart, you cannot be troubled. I do not permit it. My God is watching over me!

Scroll to translate this post into the language of your choice

3 Comments on What to do when you feel overwhelmed

  1. Thank you thank you .THANK you. Please pray for us. This word is so spot on for us right now ( my husband me and my our daughters ….) may the grace of our Lord, the love of our Father and the fellowship of the Holy Spirit be with you pastors and family….amen

  2. Emmanuel Mumba // July 15, 2017 at 4:58 am // Reply

    I believe and receive God’s divine provisions in my life through Jesus Christ Amen.

  3. Amen he is more than faithful and is always with me.

Your thoughts?

