Latest

God’s plan for you is deliverance from addiction

Proverbs 4:20-22

My son, give attention to my words;
Incline your ear to my sayings.
Do not let them depart from your eyes;
Keep them in the midst of your heart;
For they are life to those who find them,
And health to all their flesh.

Did you know that your place of greatest weakness is also your place of greatest strength?

We can be so focused on the negative when it comes to addictions, that we don’t see that the same love of routine and habit that supports our addiction to something that isn’t good for us, is also our way out.

Consider this for a moment: 90% of all behavior is habit driven. You don’t remember getting dressed or brushing your teeth because these are habits you do on auto pilot. In the same way, depression is a habit. Anger is a habit. Worry is a habit. You may think that you are a victim of it, but you have gone down that road so many times it happens easily.

Drug habits become stronger than your reason, but thankfully we are not limited to the soulish realm. Habits get hold of you, but if you can get addicted to something bad, you can get addicted to well doing also!

These verses in Proverbs give us the key. Life is all about what you give your attention to. Every time you think you are not working by habits you are deceiving yourself and robbing yourself of your breakthrough. BEING A CREATURE OF HABIT IS EXACTLY WHAT WILL EMPOWER YOU TO GET FREE FROM ADDICTION.

The Word is about to become your new addiction. Make the decision to give it your attention every minute that you have available. It won’t do you any good if you don’t go and FIND it. But if you keep it in your eyes and ears, it gets into your heart and life is disseminated throughout your being.

The effects of your old addiction may have sapped life out of you, but you can get it back, because when you take the Word, you take in life.

In the days when I was addicted to smoking, I got free by attending to the Word. Every time the craving would show up, I would put the Word in my mouth and speak out His power for my deliverance. The craving went away because the Word was life to me. It will do the same to substance abuse, sickness, misery, hopelessness, fear, worry, anger and any habit that has become too strong for your will power alone.

Have you understood yet that you can’t beat it by trying harder? Take the focus off it, and immerse yourself in the Word. The same intensity that you devoted to feeding your habit, is the thing that will accelerate your victory, as you redirect your attention. Before too long, you won’t be able to get enough of the Word. That’s when you know that you are officially a WORD ADDICT!

Pray

Heavenly Father thank you that you have wired me to succeed in life, and to walk free from every trial and every temptation. Thank you that just as I have been reliable to feed my destructive habits, so I can also feed on the Word and get free.

I make a decision today to become a Word addict. I think right now of what the Word says about me, and I make a quality decision to give it my full attention. Thank you that the Word is LIFE and HEALTH to me. I stake my claim to restoration and deliverance as I choose to get intense about the Word. In Jesus’ name!

1 Comment on God’s plan for you is deliverance from addiction

  1. In Jesus’ Name, Amen

Your thoughts?

