Latest

Achieving distinction in life

Ezekiel 36:22

Thus says the Lord God: “I do not do this for your sake, O house of Israel, but for My holy name’s sake,

Do you find yourself struggling with troubled thoughts about what others think about you or have said about you? Do you keep going over in your mind what others have done to you that harmed you in some way? It’s called living! No one gets to sidestep this experience in life.

When it happens, I recommend that you take on the same attitude that God had towards the nation of Israel, when they were profaning His name and giving Him bad press because of their disobedience and rebellion. He simply said, “I am not going to let this get to me, but instead I am going to forgive you and cleanse you.”

In the world, and indeed in every other religion, the one who is wrong pays for their fault. But God flipped the script when He made the costly decision to pay for the wrong of the people who offended Him, allowing them to go free.

It seems an impossible thing to ask of someone who has been wronged and insulted; that they should not only forgive the wrong, but also take the hit for it! But look at why it makes sense to God to do it that way: He does it for His holy name’s sake!

Look at that! It wasn’t even for our sake, so much as for the sake of acting in line with His own character, since a person’s name is only as good as their character. God would not taint His own character and holiness by being ugly to people who had offended Him. It was to His glory to show mercy and compassion instead of anger and impatience.

Proverbs 19:11 tells us, The discretion of a man makes him slow to anger, And his glory is to overlook a transgression.”

It is to your glory to drop the charges against the one who upset you and let them go free. You show that you are distinguished if you are willing to look like it was your fault for a season, because you are taking the hit while they look like they never put a foot wrong.

We will see how glorious you are by how much you refuse to take on. If you insist on fighting every little thing until you are proved right, you have no glory.

But if you handle it like God handles it, you demonstrate that you trust Him to take care of you, to fight your battles and to restore to you everything you lost in the process. Don’t worry about going down, because you are sure to RISE! You are a person of distinction!

Pray

Heavenly Father, thank you that you carried every offense that I ever committed on yourself and were numbered among the transgressors for me. I am so grateful to you for what you have done for me.

I ask you right now for your grace to handle my affairs the same way. I make a decision to forgive and to let anyone who has offended me go free, and look as though they have never done a thing wrong. I relinquish my right to be proven right, because I would rather a have a life of character and distinction, as I overlook offense. Thank you for helping me moment by moment to walk my decision through! In Jesus’ name!

Scroll to translate this post into the language of your choice

2 Comments on Achieving distinction in life

  1. Daniel Mokaila // June 20, 2017 at 6:12 am // Reply

    In Jesus Name I thank you for your Grace Lord to set me free Amen

    On Monday, June 19, 2017, Secrets Of The Winning Edge wrote: > Ramson Mumba posted: “Ezekiel 36:22 Thus says the Lord God: “I do not do this for your sake, O house of Israel, but for My holy name’s sake,” Do you find yourself struggling with troubled thoughts about what others think about you or have said about you? Do you keep going ov” >

  2. Thank you Lord for sacrificing to take the burden off our shoulders.

Your thoughts?

