Latest

Two are better than one

Ecclesiastes 4:9-10

Two are better than one because they have a more satisfying return for their labor; for if either of them falls, the one will lift up his companion.

Relationships are wonderful until one of you takes a fall. When one person fails to measure up, goes on a rant, oversteps the mark and shatters the peace of the relationship, things get rocky. Sometimes Christians are capable of acting like they are possessed!

Times of friction will inevitably come in any close relationship, and when one person bursts out in anger, you must learn how to defuse it as fast as possible. The way you interpret what happened is crucial.

As soon as you attribute malicious motives to what the other one did, you are compounding the issues. If you say, “He or she wanted to hurt me; they planned to assassinate me and bring me down.” You sow distrust into your own heart by interpreting the motives of the other in the worst possible way!

The way to take things onto the road to recovery is to establish in your own heart, “This person loves me. They do not want to demolish me and it is not in his or her heart to hurt me. They are for me. They love me, but they made a mistake. They are human and they lost control. They are not perfect and neither am I!”

That is how you will lift up the one who has fallen; you will be soft on the person, so that you can go ahead and fix the issue behind the problem. We will not bury the issue; we will certainly fix it, but we will not kill the person in the process!

Fixing the issue will rely on one key thing: your ability to identify the point of fear that caused the aggression.

Don’t be confused, a Christian cannot actually be possessed by a spirit of fear. We are the temple of the Holy Spirit and God and a demon cannot co-exist in us! We may be oppressed, but we are certainly not possessed. There is no fountain of fear within a believer, but if we yield to fear, we will lose control.

Where fear and anxiety reign, the mind has not come into line with the knowledge of the love of God. Perfect love casts out fear. Wherever your point of uncontrolled fear, you have some work to do.

I understand what this is like. I came from a place where everyone was afraid of everything! Whenever panic threatens to engulf me, I have learned to say, “I receive the wisdom of God.”

I get hold of myself. I refuse to stay in the place of challenge in my mind for more than an hour. I have learned not to be suspicious of everything. I have learned to renew my mind to believe God. So can you!

 

Pray

Heavenly Father, thank you for your wisdom that leads us out of every place of challenge and fear. Thank you for your perfect love, which causes us to be secure, because you have us covered!  Even when I feel exposed, I know that you have my back.

Right now, I receive the grace to lift up my family members, friends and companions when they fall. Thank you for the sensitivity to be soft on the person, so that the issue can be resolved. Thank you for your wisdom, Lord! You are awesome!

Scroll to translate this post into the language of your choice

1 Comment on Two are better than one

  1. Amen for that powerful word praise be to God.

Your thoughts?

