Latest

You are in credit

Genesis 17:1

When Abram was ninety-nine years old, the Lord appeared to him and said, “I am God Almighty (El-Shaddai)”

When God revealed Himself as El-Shaddai to Abraham it was a powerful turning point for him.

The name “El-Shaddai” literally means “The Many Breasted One”. The image is of a child nursing at her mother’s breast; of nourishment, comfort, security and rich supply.

Up to that point Abraham had only met the God of power, the one who was ready to speak to his sense of purpose, to stretch him to maximize his potential and draw out his greatness.

Yet however much had been prophesied over him, he didn’t have the ability to lay hold of it because he lacked a sense of reassurance.  For 24 years Abraham and Sarah had been trying to receive. Abraham had been over in Hagar’s tent, trying to make it happen, and now cynicism was creeping in. He knew that God had seen how he had treated his wife with Abimelech and Pharaoh. God had seen him with Hagar. How could he have confidence now?

But then he discovered something: That God would bless him aside from what he did. He found that righteousness is an imputation, or a credit and that God was committed to blessing him out of his great love for him, not because of anything that Abraham could do.

When God showed him his private affection and personal loyalty. Abraham understood for the first time that this wasn’t a casual church arrangement. The Lord would go to the death for Abraham and there was nothing he or Sarah could do to run Him away.

Right then Abraham was circumcised. A cut was made in a place so private that only the most intimate can see. Since God would give Him everything, He did not withhold anything in return; he was all in.

Do you understand how completely God is on your side? Is He just one of your options or have you realized that you can lean the weight of your whole life on Him and come out better than if you had relied on your natural advantages? You don’t need to come up with plan B because, even though time has passed and you are under pressure, He won’t let you down. He will bless you even though you made mistakes.

When people come against me to accuse me, I don’t panic because I know El-Shaddai. Let them talk about me! I don’t get discouraged and I am not quick to refute those accusations, because I know He is too wise, and too personally invested in me to let anyone else decide the course of my destiny. Nothing about my humanity will drive Him away. Even if I feel that I am in debit, He sees me as being in credit and His blessing over my life will speak for itself. It’s the same for you too!

Pray

Heavenly Father, thank you for investing your personal affection in me. Thank you for caring for me and upholding my cause just as if there was nothing wrong with me. Thank you for defending me and prospering me in everything I do.

I believe you, today that I am enough. I don’t need to hide from life or give up on my destiny, because the power of your blessing is taking me there. Thank you Lord!

 

3 Comments on You are in credit

  1. Thank you Lord, Amen

  2. Amen powerful word, am blessed.

  3. I am so thankful for this revelation! With the pressures of life, it’s encouraging to know that God loves me and that I am enough…to remember that I am enough!

Your thoughts?

