Latest

Don’t throw away your advantage

John 16:7-11

Nevertheless, I tell you the truth. It is to your advantage that I go away; for if I do not go away, the Helper will not come to you; but if I depart, I will send Him to you.

And when He has come, He will convict the world of sin, and of righteousness, and of judgment: of sin, because they do not believe in Me; of righteousness, because I go to My Father and you see Me no more; of judgment, because the ruler of this world is judged.

It might be a shock to you to know that you and I are in a better position now as believers than if we had been walking with Jesus on Earth. Why? Because we have a personal, heaven sent Helper, to bring us out on top in life!

Can it be possible that you might be throwing away your advantage?

Maybe you have been taught that the Holy Spirit comes to convict us of sin and bring to remembrance our shortcomings and mistakes so that we can repent. How spiritual that sounds! But that is not what Jesus taught.

The Holy Spirit talks to three sets of people differently.

He speaks to the world about their sin: specifically, their lack of trust in Jesus. Preachers have said that the Holy Spirit doesn’t talk to unbelievers, but as it turns out, He does! He tells them, “Jesus is the only way. If you reject Jesus, you are on your own. Don’t miss Him. He is your way out!” He enables unbelievers to become believers!

Notice that He doesn’t talk to them about their deeds of darkness. The reason is that they have already been judged in Jesus! The only thing that is left for them to do is to believe on Him!

The prince of this world, the devil, however, hears a very different thing from the Holy Spirit. As the author of sin and death, he hears the warning of his impending judgment, “You are going down! Your goose is cooked.”

For believers, the Holy Spirit has a third, glorious message; He convicts us of the fact that we are now in the God-class of being. The work of salvation is complete; Jesus is at the right hand of the Father and we are now the righteousness of God in Him!

We can and should approach the throne of God without fear, guilt, shame, condemnation or inferiority, not in arrogant self-confidence, but because we have been washed in His blood.

You and I can go to God knowing that He will answer us because He both loves AND likes us! There is no more room for timidity or nervousness before God. It is not humility to come into His presence rubbing your hands and telling God you are nothing, when He has paid such a high price to redeem you from all of that!

It’s time to rightly discern the voice of the Holy Spirit in your life.

He is the one telling you that you are strong in Him and in His strength. He is the one telling you that you are not subject to your circumstances but you are destined to rule and reign in this life by His grace. He is the one who is helping you win!

Pray

Heavenly Father, thank you for sending your Holy Spirit into my life to talk to me about my right standing before you. I lay hold of my advantage today, and I thank you that I can now accurately discern His voice in my heart, because I know that the voices that accuse me don’t come from Him; the voices that discourage me and remind me of my faults are NOT Him; the voices that tell me I cannot have it and I cannot do it and I am not enough are NOT Him.

Thank you for sending Him to empower me, lift me up, strengthen me, comfort me, and remind me to stand before you without feeling afraid or uncertain. Today, by your grace I will HEED HIS VOICE! Thank you, Lord!

Scroll to translate this post into the language of your choice

1 Comment on Don’t throw away your advantage

Your thoughts?

