Latest

You are a barrier breaker

Numbers 23:20-21

“Behold, I have received a command to bless;
He has blessed, and I cannot reverse it.”

“He has not observed iniquity in Jacob,
Nor has He seen wickedness in Israel.
The Lord his God is with him,
And the shout of a King is among them.”

Have you ever considered the immutable power of the blessing over your life? The blessing is stronger than any other force that may be at work right now, even if that force seems formidable.

When Balak, the king of the Moabites became afraid that Israel would attack Moab and defeat them, he called for Balaam to come and curse them. He didn’t want to face them head on in battle; he decided to remove the power of the blessing from them, so that their ability and strength to win would be taken away.

When you and I face a challenge, the first thing the enemy wants to do is to remind us of all the reasons why we have no backing from God. He attacks our confidence in the blessing on our lives, by bringing to remembrance our sin, inadequacy and short comings, and that of our families before us. He wants us to feel trapped in failure and defeat.

The nation of Israel had a checkered past. Time after time they tempted God in the wilderness, yet He kept giving them victory over their enemies. It was remarkable that nothing they did could cancel out the blessing that God had declared to Abraham, and which had been passed down to them.

Balak took Balaam to three different high places so that they could look down on the Israelite camp and speak a curse over them, but from every perspective they saw the same thing – the people of God were irrevocably blessed! Balaam could only doubly and triply confirm the blessing of God over the nation.

As they looked down on the camp, they would have seen something that gives us powerful assurance nowadays that the same thing is all the truer for us; the Israelites always camped in the shape of a cross! Even though their covenant was inferior, their blessing foreshadowed the greater blessing that was to come through the cross of Jesus Christ!

You and I have been authorized to win in life despite our imperfections. No accusation of the wrong we have done and no suggestion of a curse handed down to us from our ancestors need lead us to the place of fear. Jesus became a curse for us, and he drank the bitterness of that cup when he was on the cross. Our faith in what HE has done to totally and irrevocably BLESS us, is enough to lead us out of any place of darkness! Because of Him we are barrier breakers!

Pray

Heavenly Father, thank you for the blessing over my life. I accept that I am blessed and that no man and nothing can curse what you have blessed. In the face of every difficulty I am facing I shout from the mountain tops that I AM BLESSED!

I renounce every fear of the curse. I refute the lie that has told me that I cannot succeed in life because of where I came from, who I am attached to, and what I have done or failed to do. Today I accept that I am free to succeed and to go far beyond the expectations of others for my life! If no one else believes in me, I rejoice that YOU believe in me, Lord. Today is a new day and I am a barrier breaker in the name of Jesus!

2 Comments on You are a barrier breaker

  1. Mary Ann King // March 28, 2017 at 3:59 am // Reply

    Thank you Dr Mumba
    What a beautiful thing it was to rise up from my bed this morning and to read and to SET my eyes and heart on your blog. It’s a wonderful supplement to Sundays teaching and quickly reminded me of what my Jesus has done and how HE believes in me.
    I am irrevocably blessed. Unstoppable.
    Thanks.
    Mary Ann

Your thoughts?

