Latest

Wake up to who you are

1 Corinthians 15:34

Awake to righteousness, and sin not!

Christians get themselves into deep water when they believe that God is after human perfection. They want to preach about sin to make people repent and renounce it, but this is not what the Word says. Only a revelation of the love of God will turn a human being’s heart towards God. It is His kindness that leads men to repentance.

We are no longer objects of God’s wrath, but the focus of His goodness. We are sons of God, joint heirs with Christ, and we have the responsibility of ruling and reigning with Him.

When you and I believed God, and gave Him our lives, a credit was made to our heavenly account, and that credit was righteousness. We were declared justified and clean of all impurity and iniquity before Him. There is no point talking to God about what you did wrong, because He has forgotten about it.

Even though the Holy Spirit ministers to us constantly that all is well between us we easily live with an awareness of our shortcomings. That’s why the Word tells us, “Awake to righteousness!” In other words, “Don’t pay attention to what you are not, pay attention to who you have become! You are awesome! There is nothing wrong with you!” We literally have to consciously wake up to what has happened to us because of what Jesus did.

Whatever we focus on, that is what will increase in our lives. The more we preach about sin, the more people sin, but if we awake to righteousness, we realize that we have been made like God!

Count yourself dead to sin today. That means that you recognize that you are no longer in that arena.  You aren’t even thinking about it, because you are too busy focusing on your righteousness. You are too busy exploring and practicing being who you have become to plan an affair, plot against someone or go on a drinking spree!

You don’t have to prove that you are humanly perfect, because you never will meet God’s standard. The bar is set far too high. But you have had righteousness imputed to you, which is far better! Like Jesus you can say, “I must work the works of God while it is still day.” What are you waiting for?

 

Pray and declare

Heavenly Father, today I choose to wake up to who I am. I am not struggling to be righteous and get everything right. In fact, I give myself permission to be imperfect. And instead I receive your gift of righteousness. Thank you for crediting it to me because I believe you.

I declare today that there is nothing wrong with me. I declare that I am authorized to rule and reign in my circumstances and work the works of God. I count myself dead to sin and to doing things my own way, and I trust in the Lord to bring my dreams, my desires and my purpose to pass.

2 Comments on Wake up to who you are

  1. Amen for that powerful word which encourages me to live a righteous life.

Your thoughts?

