Latest

Why Christians stay away from church

1 Kings 17:17-18

It happened after these things, that the son of the woman, the mistress of the house, became sick; and his illness was so severe that there was no breath left in him.

So she said to Elijah, “What [problem] is there between you and me, O man of God? Have you come to me to bring my sin to mind and to put my son to death?”

When the woman whose son died saw Elijah, her first reaction told a poignant story; she said, “Have you come to bring my sin to remembrance?”

Beaten up by life and in deep distress, needing answers and needing a miracle, when she first saw the man of God, this lady, despite her past experiences of God’s goodness through this man, could not help but feel condemned.

The very presence of the man of God brought an expectation that she would be confronted with her guilt and the things she hadn’t done right, yet Revelation 12:10 tells us clearly that Satan, not God, is the accuser of the brethren. How can he be using the preacher to get to the people of God, and make them expect the worst?

In John 5:44 Jesus made the link for us when he was talking to the Pharisees, Do not think that I shall accuse you to the Father; there is one who accuses you—Moses, in whom you trust.”

We mess up as believers when we take the Word and hold it up to prove that we, or someone else is wrong. When we teach nothing but God’s perfect standard, given in the law of Moses, we leave people in a worse state than when they came to us, because even though we use the Word of God, we operate in the spirit of Satan!

Those who brought the woman caught in adultery to Jesus, requested that she be stoned, “according to the law of Moses.” Jesus however, refused to condemn her.

Instead of holding her – and us – accountable, He, Himself, fulfilled, once and for all, the righteous requirements of the law, living and dying in perfect obedience and releasing His own righteousness as a gift for us, He also “disarmed principalities and powers”. In other words, He took out of Satan’s hand the tool he uses to accuse us – the law of Moses.

That means that whenever you are aware of the voice in your head, that reminds you of your weakness, your failure and your mess, you have every authority to SHUT IT DOWN! The enemy is using an out of date list of requirements to try and indict you! You must overcome that voice if you are ever going to gain mastery over the works of Satan in your life.

If God’s grace came through the prophet, Elijah to confound her fears and bring her son back to life, how much more can we, the grateful recipients of God’s own righteousness, expect Him to come right into our situation and bring the outcome we long for!

Pray

Heavenly Father, thank you so much that Jesus fulfilled your perfect standard on my behalf. Thank you that in Him I am as righteous as you are, therefore I shut down all voices of accusation and disempower the enemy in my life.

Thank you that when others want to stone me, and the voice inside my head wants me to give up and let go of what I have asked you for, your voice runs contrary to those things. Today, I receive your voice of justification; I receive your voice of encouragement and fresh strength and I choose to believe you! Thank you that my hope and my expectation of your goodness will not be cut off. Thank you, Lord!

 

Scroll to translate this post into the language of your choice

7 Comments on Why Christians stay away from church

  1. Sophia Adodo // March 17, 2017 at 12:51 am // Reply

    This came at the perfect time. God bless you papa mumba 🙏🏾

  2. Amen glory and praise be to God.

  3. Nontlantla // March 17, 2017 at 3:19 am // Reply

    Thank you man of God this came to me at a right time I was feeling confused, rejected and unappreciated but now I think I was being played by the tricks of the devil to think that I was not good enough to receive answers for all I have been trusting God for.
    Right now I repent 🙌🙌.
    I believe God has best for my life.

    I thank God for using you in our lives and I thank you for obeying Him.
    Stay blessed

  4. Thank you Lord.

  5. Pastor you blessed me with this one ( also) I thank you I have the right ( God given right through Christ ) to shut down ⬇️ Every voice of accusation even those which enter my own head! I have and I AM WHAT GOD HAS SPOKEN!

    Whooop whooop
    I feel this Pastor I CAN DO ALLLLLLL THINGS THROUGH CHRIST

    Lady Kim

  6. Pastor these words you spoke has freed me like no other. Satan does bring your past to remembrance and each time I felt defeated and he always comes along when you are having some troublesome times. But no more will he accuse me. Gods word is life. When you speak his word it’s like a transfusion. Thanks you for being obedient to God and yielding to the Holy Spirt. I love you and Pastor Star. God Bless you both!

  7. Thank you for this precious word in season.

Your thoughts?

