Latest

The power of strength under control

1 Samuel 21:13-14

So David changed his behavior before them, pretended madness in their hands, scratched on the doors of the gate, and let his saliva fall down on his beard. Then Achish (the King of Gath) said to his servants, “Look, you see the man is insane. Why have you brought him to me?”

When David was running from Saul and he came to the king of Gath for refuge, he feared because there was much talk in that land of his greatness as a warrior. Hearing what they were saying about him, David took an unusual decision – he feigned madness among them.

David understood that to come to them in the fullness of his strength would make them feel threatened and insecure, and could get him killed. His behavior turned out to be the wisdom of God. When men brought David to the King to hand him over as a dangerous man, his apparent weakness took away their suspicion of him, and David went free.

I don’t know about you, but I learned a long time ago that not everyone deserves the best of who I am. Like David, I found out that letting people see my strength could get me killed in certain circles.

Have you ever walked into a room and found yourself faced with hostility? You haven’t done anything to anyone in that room, but they immediately set themselves up to be your enemy?

The issue isn’t that you didn’t make the grade; the issue was that they sensed your brilliance and felt threatened by you. You made them feel insecure, because they suspected that you might outshine them; and whenever a person perceives you as a threat to their significance, they will set themselves up against you.

In those situations, you don’t have to show your brilliance to people, because if they see your strength, it will be to your detriment. Right now, it would be best to let them think that you are somewhat dumb, and rather weak, because you are working on something bigger. They are strategic for that season to preserve you and get you to the next place on your journey, and later, when they see the results you are getting, you won’t need to explain who you are. Your results will speak for themselves.

Don’t ever be in a rush to tell people that you are amazing, just let them see the testimony of your life: how you kept going when everyone had written you off; how you stood when you had run out of strength, how you made it through and came out on top when the odds were stacked against you. As Jesus said to John’s messengers, “Tell John that the blind see and the lame walk.” In other words, “I don’t have to convince you that I am anointed, just look at what takes place under my influence.”

Let your security be in God and be confident that you don’t need to prove yourself to everyone. Rest in Him and let Him raise you up at the right time.

Pray

Heavenly Father, thank you for the wisdom of David. As I consider my life, I ask you to highlight to me any situations where I need to imitate him and take a back seat, instead of trying to show off my skills and abilities.

Thank you for your grace to be able to walk in meekness; to keep my strength under control and to resist the temptation to try to prove my point. Thank you that my life is in your hands and that you are faithful to bring me to the place of my purpose at the right time. Thank you that you order my steps and give me the power to steward every person along the way with wisdom. Thank you, Lord!

 

6 Comments on The power of strength under control

  1. Hallelujah amen and amen for powerful words of wisdom glory be to God.

  2. Powerful and awesome.Thank you Pastor. xxxxx

  3. Sheltah Mutamiri // March 16, 2017 at 3:42 am // Reply

    Thank you Pastor. You gave opened my eyes God bless you more with more wisdom

  4. Sheltah Mutamiri // March 16, 2017 at 3:44 am // Reply

    Thank you Pastor. You have opened my eyes God bless you more with more wisdom

  5. Wow! Thank you for Words of Wisdom Sir.

  6. Thank you for powerful revelation.

Your thoughts?

