Latest

Recognizing the love of God

 

Deuteronomy 1:27 & 29-31

And you complained in your tents, and said, ‘Because the Lord hates us, He has brought us out of the land of Egypt to deliver us into the hand of the Amorites, to destroy us.”…

…Then I said to you, ‘Do not be terrified, or afraid of them. The Lord your God, who goes before you, He will fight for you, according to all He did for you in Egypt before your eyes, and in the wilderness where you saw how the Lord your God carried you, as a man carries his son, in all the way that you went until you came to this place.’

When Christians have an underlying conviction that God really doesn’t like them much, they have no confidence that they will win in the challenges of life.

If they felt OK about themselves before they went to church, religion finished them off!

I am passionate to preach this New Covenant until people’s knowledge of God’s love for them, is no longer mere mental assent, but it becomes a source of strong assurance and security.

When the Israelites came to Kadesh Barnea and spied out the wonderful land that God showed them, they wouldn’t go in and possess it, because they thought that God hated them. They had no confidence that God would fight for them against the giants of the land. They missed out on their inheritance because they didn’t accept that God would fight for them. They didn’t know that He had carried them and that at every turn He had dealt with them in tenderness and in grace. Because they were afraid of God, they were afraid of every enemy too.

How is your assurance of God’s love today? Have you failed to recognize His grace carrying you? Do you know that despite your issues, He will still fight for you?

He has set His love upon you to such an extent that He refuses to impute sin to you, instead He imputed it to Jesus for your sake. Everything that is wrong with you is settled when you believe Him.

God loves you and me exactly the same way that He loves Jesus. Look at Jesus being baptized in Matthew 3. As He rose up out of the water, the voice of His father came, “This is my beloved Son, in whom I am well pleased”

Jesus was just starting out. He hadn’t yet earned that pleasure. He didn’t need to, because He was already beloved.

When Satan tempted Him afterwards saying, “If you are the Son of God…” note that he left out the word “beloved Son”

This is the key! As soon as you know you are not just a son, but a beloved son who is jealously and passionately wanted, there is no work of the devil that can defeat you. No fear can overwhelm you, no temptation can attract you, and absolutely nothing can separate you from His wonderful, immeasurable, extravagant love.

Pray

Heavenly Father, right now I recognize before you that it has been you who has carried me in my life this far. Thank you for watching over me and fighting for me and not holding my sin against me. Thank you for doing so many things to protect me and to provide for me. Looking back, I can see your hand, and I am so grateful for your steadfast love.

I settle it once and for all today, that I accept that you are for me. You are pleased with me and you want me. Nothing can separate me from your love, and I receive boldness for every situation that is threatening my security right now. I place my trust in you, and I thank you in advance for the victory!

Scroll to translate this post into the language of your choice

4 Comments on Recognizing the love of God

  1. Halleluya, thank you Lord am your beloved son . You didn’t give me a spirit of Judas Iscariot. But a spirit of love, power and a sound mind. As He is, so am I in this world

  2. I THANK GOD FOR SETTING ME FREE FROM THAT UNDERLYNG BELIEF,IT HAS BN QUITE A STRUGLE I DNT WANA LIE.BT GOD BY HIS LOVE HAS SET ME FREE M NOW A LIVING TESTIMONY ND CONFESSING HIS LOVE.THANK YOU LORD JESUS.

  3. Amen! I am the LORD’S Beloved!!! Hallelujah!

Your thoughts?

