Latest

How to stay sober

Romans 12:3

For I say, through the grace given to me, to everyone who is among you, not to think of himself more highly than he ought to think, but to think soberly, as God has dealt to each one a measure of faith.

God expects you to love yourself! Not only that but He expects you to like and appreciate the person He has made you to be, and He calls that being sober!

People who dislike themselves often come from un-supportive families or environments, or were brought up in a place of chronic criticism. If nothing you do is ever good enough, you conclude that there is something wrong with you; you internalize what is wrong in your environment and say that it is because of you.

If self-hatred has driven you to become self-destructive or emotionally withdrawn, depressed and always ready to hit out, you can’t love others as you should. You can’t value them until you value yourself.

You must separate the opinions of men from your true identity and you must figure out and discover what you are good at.

No one will make you in life so don’t wait to be discovered. God has a million and one ways to get you to the top.

You must understand that you are enough. You don’t need to perform or jump through hoops to be approved of and you don’t need to have approval from others to like yourself. You are the righteousness of God. You can stand before any human being without feeling less than.

God expects that you have a high opinion of yourself. If you are wondering how that can happen without being narcissistic and obnoxiously impressed with yourself, take a look at how God has set it up: you will maintain sobriety by having a clear grasp of what you do best and the faith you have for it.

The grace on your life determines what you can, and should, say about yourself. You must have self-knowledge and be able to state it: “I am an excellent teacher.” Or, “I am a skilled astronaut.” If you are neither of these things, you have no business saying it, but you must have SOMETHING to say about yourself. You don’t need anyone’s permission to like and celebrate yourself, and others around you will benefit as you do. Peace be with you!

Pray

Heavenly Father, thank you that you made me in perfection for the purpose that you have for me. Thank you for the grace that you placed upon my life to be excellent and to shine out as a representation of Jesus on this Earth. I recognize that I am what I am by the grace of God.

I renounce self-hatred right now. I refuse to be trapped in self-rejection and self-loathing, and instead I receive self-knowledge and the ability to think of myself highly and with the proper sobriety. Thank you, Father, for believing in me and never giving up on me. I love you, Lord!

4 Comments on How to stay sober

  1. Amen

  2. Amen I thank God for not giving up on me even if I sin some of the times.

Your thoughts?

