Latest

Get out of life’s performance trap

Zephaniah 3:17

The Lord your God in your midst, The Mighty One, will save; He will rejoice over you with gladness, He will quiet you with His love, He will rejoice over you with singing.”

Whether men recognize it or not, there is tremendous worth and dignity in every human life. Before you know anything, have anything or can do anything, you are somebody worth loving and worth pursuing, because your true value is set by your creator and no one else.

When you don’t know your value, you lay yourself open to manipulation and abuse. You will jump through all kinds of hoops, and accept less than everyone else, and let them tell you that you are ungrateful if you bring it up!

Let God take you through the same journey that Leah went through to get free of that situation.

When Leah was married to Jacob in place of her sister, she was unloved. Instead of having a man who prized her, she stood in her sister’s shadow, and felt the pain of not being enough.

The Lord opened her womb, while Rachel remained barren, but Leah used her privilege to try and become what circumstances were telling her she was not.

Her first born she called Reuben, saying, “The Lord has surely looked on my affliction. Now therefore, my husband will love me.”

The second child she called Simeon, saying, “Because the Lord has heard that I am unloved, He has therefore given me this son also.”

The third child she called Levi, saying, “Now this time my husband will become attached to me, because I have borne him three sons.”

Leah went through the discomfort of pregnancy and the pain of child birth because she didn’t know she was worth loving. Every baby was about trying to earn the affirmation that she was worth as much as Rachel.

Are you doing all the right things, but with the wrong motive? Maybe, like Leah, you don’t feel that your appearance measures up. On paper, it looks like you ought to be happy with the privileges you have, but it is bittersweet for you, because you are trying to get what you are doing to confer a sense of worth on you, instead of doing it out of a sense of worth.

Like Leah, you must move on to Judah. When she gave birth to him, her fourth child, she said, “Now I will praise the Lord.”

Leah decided she wasn’t going to look to Jacob anymore for her sense of worth, and that she had to live for an audience of one. She realized, “I don’t need to do this because of my affliction; this time I am going to do this and be thankful that God has made my womb fruitful! I am done with trying to make someone else believe my worth. I am enough!”

Maybe it is time for you to declare that, whether others realize it or not, you are worthy of this job and this promotion, you are worthy of the sole attention of a man, you are worthy of this place of honor. You are over trying to prove who you are, and if some don’t recognize you, God will raise up others who will!

 

Pray

Father, thank you that you have placed such value on my life. Thank you that I am a person of dignity and worth, regardless of what life tells me. It is my privilege and delight to live to please a God who rejoices over me so much! I step out of the performance trap right now, and I declare that I am enough in this life! Thank you, Lord, for surrounding me with people who perceive and value the unique person that I have been created to be. Thank you, Lord!

3 Comments on Get out of life’s performance trap

  1. Amen glory be to God for this powerful word. I pray for God to bless me for me to have that sense of worth upon my life.

  2. Thank you Lord, Amen

  3. Amen ,thank you Lord

Your thoughts?

