Latest

Stepping up

2 Samuel 9: 7-8

David said to Mephibosheth, “Do not fear, for I will surely show you kindness for Jonathan your father’s sake, and will restore to you all the land of Saul your grandfather; and you shall eat bread at my table continually.”

Then he bowed himself, and said, “What is your servant, that you should look upon such a dead dog as I?”

Have you ever been in a situation where you should have won, but because in that moment, you were unsure of yourself, you handled it wrongly and failed to step up?

Mephibosheth had the same issue. He was born royal, but because he was so aware of his weaknesses, He saw Himself as impotent as a dead dog.

If you believe you are inferior to who God has made you to be, you will be defeated, even when you should be dining at the King’s table, and enjoying the fullness of your inheritance in Christ.

People want to define themselves as “just a mom” or “just a dad”. The way you said it, I could tell you said it out of a sense of defeat, limiting yourself and minimizing your value, when in your heart of hearts, you know you are so much more.

Some people define themselves by and event that took place in their life, “I’m a divorcee.” Or, “I’m a cancer survivor” Everything becomes about what you went through.

To be maximized in life you must refuse to live by stereotypes. Your race or nationality, your career, and your family background may all be one aspect of your identity, but if you make it everything your life will be smaller than it should be.

Psychologists tell us that we are the product of our DNA, and that our genetic ancestry has control over the person we are; but when you and I were grafted into the family of God, we received a whole new DNA. If God did genetic engineering on Jacob’s flock in Genesis 30 and 31, you can be sure He will do the same with your family history of heart disease.

They also tell us we are the product of our psychological make up, both conscious and unconscious, but the reason we are God’s crown jewel in creation is that we have the ability to be made totally new in the attitude of our minds. (Romans 12:1-2 & Ephesians 4:23) and be totally transformed. You can flunk school at 15 and still be a professor by the time you are 30! You can just switch – you are that awesome!

Finally, they tell us that we are a product of our environment, but when we come into Christ, we enter a whole new environment. No matter who or what we were surrounded with before, Jesus Christ has become for us whatever we need! It is He who now defines our realities and who we are!

Refuse to be limited today. Recognize and shake off those confining definitions of who you are, and put on your “in Christ” identity today!

Pray and declare

Thank you, Father, that because I believe that Jesus died on the cross and was raised from the dead for me, I am a new creation. No aspect of my past has any hold on me, because you continually make all things new in my life. Today I release my faith for a whole new season of blessing and productivity as I accept and assume my awesome identity in you. Thank you that I am redeemed, I am holy and I am royal! In Jesus’ name!

Scroll to translate this post into the language of your choice

3 Comments on Stepping up

  1. Amended for that powerful word that encourages I am redeemed of the Lord and am blessed

  2. I am redeemed, I am Holy and I am Royal in Jesus Name, Amen!

Your thoughts?

