Latest

Feed on the Word from someone you know and trust

John 6:63

It is the Spirit who gives life; the flesh profits nothing. The words that I speak to you are spirit, and they are life.

Did you know that as a believer you have a responsibility to feed on the Word of God?

Just like God, you and I are spirit beings. Unlike animals it is impossible for us to live superficial lives and be satisfied. In this verse, Jesus goes as far as to say that the flesh profits nothing, or in other words, living to feed our flesh brings no lasting profit to our lives.

We have needs that cannot be met by material things, our life can only be replenished and satisfied by God Himself, as He speaks the Word into our hearts. The Word of God contains the spiritual substance called life. One Word from God and you can have the answer you need, your broken heart can be healed, the favor you need can be released and the money you need, deposited.

God has supplied the Word as spiritual food for us, but He will not force feed us! It is up to us to show up at the table to eat. Make a determination to feed on the Word. Not just by reading the Bible for yourself, but by receiving the Word preached under the anointing by a teacher you know and trust.

Don’t be fooled by those making speeches about what God is saying, and claiming to be sent by God, but what they say is not backed up by a lifestyle that is authentic and free from duplicity.

If you are going to be fed the Word in a reliable way, you can’t afford to listen to someone who sounds eloquent in the pulpit but spends his evenings cruising the red light district. Promises are worthless compared to track record, and one sure way of knowing that there is something not right is to listen to the recurring refrain in the preached messages you are hearing. If the preacher can’t stop talking about fornication, or preaching against homosexuals, or condemning liars, you can be sure that he or she is doing the exact same thing, because out of the fullness of the heart the mouth will always speak. If he is talking about love but you can feel the meanness coming out of him, you have the wrong instructor for your life!

Don’t let everyone’s words carry the same weight in your life, and don’t fall into the same trap as Job, who allowed himself to be counseled by foolish friends. People can preach what they know but can only produce what they are, so be discriminating and choose those whose characters line up with what they are teaching. You are too valuable and your destiny too precious, so stop and consider right now who you are listening to as you feed on the Word. May God Himself direct your paths and give you wisdom.

Pray and consider

Father, I thank you that you are faithful to sustain my life with your Word. Thank you for sending forth your Word and healing every part of my life and bringing me wholeness. Right now I bring before you all the people whose words I allow to carry weight in my life, and I ask you to show me whose teaching and counsel are good for me. Show me which ones you have sent, and which ones are not helpful for me, and order my steps according to your will. Thank you Lord!

Scroll to translate this post into the language of your choice

7 Comments on Feed on the Word from someone you know and trust

  1. In God’s hands the impossible is possible
    In Jesus Name Amen

  2. Amen and amen thank you for wise words of wisdom

  3. Amen thank you for wise words of wisdom.

  4. God,show me the people who are helpful for me,and dont show me the people who are not helpful for me!!God my Lord i ask to give me everything what i need because without you i am nothing!

  5. Suman Shaibu // January 31, 2017 at 2:33 pm // Reply

    Man of God,Thank you so much for your words to me,i believe that words can cause something to happen because at the biggining there was words and words was from God and God is words!I believe in words of God and i want to thank you Man of God for your encouragement to me with words of God!!Thank you for praying for me,And i ask God to continue blessing and strengthen you and your Ministry in Jesus name,Ameen

    On 31/01/2017, Welcome To The Realm Of Unlimited Possibilities

  6. Winsome Thomas // February 3, 2017 at 12:14 pm // Reply

    You are so right Dr Mumba. It is very important whom you permit to speak into your life. Thank you for the man of God you are.

Your thoughts?

