Latest

Hopelessness: the great human sickness

 hotel room Paris

John 5:42

 “But do not think I will accuse you before the Father. Your accuser is Moses, on whom your hopes are set.”

The most mind-blowing impact of the death and resurrection of Jesus is this: There is now NO REASON WHATSOEVER to feel condemned!

The church in this generation has exchanged the power of God for a moral code that leaves believers with a profound sense of failure.

But this moral code, derived from the Judaic law, but not expressing it fully, can never bring righteousness to any human being. There is absolutely NO POINT trying to measure ourselves by it since God doesn’t.

In fact, Jesus tells us that the law (Moses) is our accuser and Romans 10:4 tells us quite clearly that Jesus is the END of the law.

Romans 8:1 tells us the incredible fact that there is NO MORE CONDEMNATION for those who are in Christ Jesus. That is where the original text in the Septuagint ends. The second part of the verse in our modern translations was added by people who did not have the guts to receive the enormity of what this verse says. But that is exactly what God meant: We are no longer guilty!

Christians who have sat under strict performance-empahtic teaching for years are the most hopeless people on the planet!

When you feel you have not measured up, life becomes a burden. In fact, hopelessness is the greatest sickness of the human race. This is how it plays out:

“Since there isn’t going to be an excellent man in my future I may as well take this nincompoop! Since I have no real hope of prosperity, I may as well lie on my bed all day and not even try; since my life isn’t going to really count for anything great, I might as well get high get wasted.”

It’s only when condemnation is truly taken away from a person’s mindset that true hope for a better future can rise.

There is no fear of divine retribution any more, but instead a happy expectation of God’s goodness. Now the present can take on a different significance, and moral parameters have purpose and attractiveness. It now plays out like this:

“Because of His goodness (not my qualifications) God will raise me up to play a significant part in this generation. He will anoint me and empower me and promote me to shape decisions that will impact nations. Because of that I can’t get involved with drugs; they will get in the way. I don’t want to waste my time with nicompoops, I know God has people of good character for my life and I want to be ready for God to use me.”

Scroll to translate this post into the language of your choice

Your thoughts?

